Swiss made: the only true reference

Throughout the world the reputation of Swiss made watches is unrivalled. Know-how, impeccable quality, aesthetic prowess, technical innovation: the indication Swiss made reflects all this, and much more. Two words which, combined with renowned brands, guarantee the best choice for the consumer in search of a high value timepiece.

But two words that also need resolutely protecting. Firstly because the Swiss made label is the only true reference in the world of watchmaking, but also because customer satisfaction is at stake.

The Swiss made label relies not only on considerable intrinsic value, but also on criteria defined by law. At present, the conditions stipulating whether or not a watch or a clock can display this famous label are determined by a Federal ordinance.

The project to strengthen the label

In the near future, to protect the value of the label still further, conditions of use will be significantly strengthened. The ordinance governing the use of the name Swiss for watches will include a new definition of the Swiss watch not only in response to concerns in the industry, but also to satisfy the requirements of the new Swissness bill passed in 2013.

Means of protection

The FH takes action on a daily basis to protect Swiss made and other geographical indications, such as the name Geneva for example. It is for this purpose that the names Swiss made and Swiss in particular have been registered as certification marks in the United States and Hong Kong.

Lastly, we administer registrations of the sign of identification of the producer (SIP), compulsory marking stipulated by the ordinance on the protection of marks.

Swiss made : la seule véritable référence

Partout dans le monde, la réputation des montres Swiss made est inégalée. Savoir-faire, qualité irréprochable, esthétique parfaite, innovation technique : l'indication Swiss made traduit tout cela, et bien plus encore. Deux mots qui, alliés à des marques renommées, garantissent le meilleur choix pour le consommateur en quête d'un garde-temps de haute valeur.

Mais deux mots qu'il s'agit aussi de protéger avec détermination. D'abord parce que le label Swiss made constitue la seule véritable référence en matière horlogère, mais aussi parce que la satisfaction du client est en jeu.

Le label Swiss made repose non seulement sur une valeur intrinsèque considérable, mais également sur des critères définis par la loi. A l'heure actuelle, c'est une ordonnance fédérale qui fixe les conditions pour qu'une montre ou une pendulette puisse arborer ce fameux label.

Le projet de renforcement

Dans un futur proche, et afin de protéger encore davantage la valeur du label, les conditions d'utilisation seront renforcées de manière significative. L'ordonnance réglant l'utilisation du nom Suisse pour les montres inclura en effet une nouvelle définition de la montre suisse afin de répondre à la volonté de la branche d'une part, et de satisfaire aux exigences de la nouvelle loi Swissness adoptée en 2013 d'autre part.

Les moyens de protection

La FH agit quotidiennement pour la protection du Swiss made et des autres indications géographiques, comme le nom Genève par exemple. C'est dans ce but que les dénominations Swiss made et Swiss ont en particulier été déposées en tant que marques de certification aux Etats-Unis et à Hong Kong.

Enfin, nous administrons les enregistrements du signe d'identification du producteur (SIP), marquage obligatoire prévu par l'ordonnance sur la protection des marques.