Français
  FH Hong Kong FH Japan Search in this site:
  Swiss Made  
   
A general overview
 

Watches, clocks and alarm clocks manufactured in Switzerland bear the designation "Swiss made" (or its abbreviation "Swiss") as well as the logo of the producer or distributor. This label ("place of origin" in legal terms) enjoys a solid reputation throughout the world. And globalization of trade has done nothing to diminish its importance. On the contrary, the modern consumer is looking for a maximum of information when he or she goes shopping for a new timepiece.

What lies behind this reputation ?
What does a label like this mean for the consumer ?

"Swiss made" embodies a concept of quality that has been forged over the years. It includes the technical quality of watches (accuracy, reliability, water-resistance and shock-resistance), as well as their aesthetic quality (elegance and originality of design). It covers both traditional manufacturing and new technologies (micro-electronics).

The Swiss are not the only watchmakers to manufacture high-quality timepieces and are consequently faced with strong competition. However, thanks to their unique infrastructure and to their know-how and spirit of innovation, they have succeeded in maintaining their leading position.

The intrinsic value of the "Swiss made" label, therefore, is the result of considerable efforts on the part of watchmaking companies, who are ultimately responsible for maintaining its reputation.

While prestigious brand names have thrived, they have never relegated the "Swiss made" label to a secondary place. The brand names and "Swiss made" have always worked together in an alliance that provides the consumer with the best of guarantees.

It is hardly surprising that this asset whets the appetite of counterfeiters. "Swiss made" has to be constantly protected on every market. Providing this protection is one of the principal tasks of the FH which conducts an on-going battle through legal and administrative channels to thwart anyone abusing the "Swiss" name. The weapons used in this battle are the laws of each of the countries concerned, backed by international agreements (bi-lateral treaties signed by Switzerland with several European countries and multi-lateral conventions drawn up by the World Intellectual Property Organization and by the World Trade Organization - TRIPS agreement -).

Recognizing that it must set the example, Switzerland has already reinforced the legal instruments at its disposal. The new law on "the protection of brand names and place of origin", passed on 28 August 1992, introduced more severe punishments. The Swiss customs authorities, for their part, keep a vigilant eye on all imports, exports and merchandise in transit.

Moreover, a law "regulating the use of the name 'Swiss' for watches" sets out the minimum conditions that have to be fulfilled before a watch merits the "Swiss made" label.

This law is based on a concept according to which Swiss quality depends on the amount of work actually carried out on a watch in Switzerland, even if some foreign components are used in it. It therefore requires that the assembly work on the movement (the motor of the watch) and on the watch itself (fitting the movement with the dial, hands and the various parts of the case) should be carried out in Switzerland, along with the final testing of the movement. It also requires that at least 50% of the components of the movement should be manufactured in Switzerland.

Certain regions in Switzerland have their own "place of origin" labels. One of the most renowned is "Genève", which identifies top-quality timepieces made in the city and canton of Geneva. Like "Swiss made", this label is very popular with counterfeiters and therefore benefits from continuous protection within the framework of the FH's anti-counterfeiting programme.

The Swiss watch industry is very active in safeguarding the integrity of "Swiss made" and its other regional labels of quality.

The vigilant consumer can also play an effective supporting role. By choosing reputable sales points and not being tempted by deals that are as dubious as they are outlandish, he or she will help to thwart counterfeiters, protect his or her own interests and contribute to the defence of fair trading.

The FH and its regional representatives will be happy to provide further information on this subject.

 
 
Legally speaking
 
Conditions for use Case
A Swiss watch "Swiss Quartz" indication
A Swiss watch movement "Swiss parts" indication
Material extent of the use of the word "Swiss" Role of the FH
Wristlet  
 
 
Conditions for use
 

A Swiss watch

Only when it is Swiss, may a watch carry the indications "Swiss made" or "Swiss", or any other expression containing the word "Swiss" or its translation, on the outside. According to Section 1a OSM, a watch is considered to be Swiss if:

  • its movement is Swiss;
  • its movement is cased up in Switzerland;
  • and the manufacturer carries out the final inspection in Switzerland.

A Swiss watch movement

As we have seen, to be Swiss, a watch must use a Swiss movement. According to Section 2 OSM, a movement is considered to be Swiss if:

  • it has been assembled in Switzerland;
  • it has been inspected by the manufacturer in Switzerland; and
  • the components of Swiss manufacture account for at least 50 percent of the total value, without taking into account the cost of assembly.

If the movement fulfills these conditions, but the watch is not assembled in Switzerland, the "Swiss" indication may be affixed to one of the components of the movement. On the outside of the watch, may then only appear the "mouvement suisse" or "Swiss movement" indication. Section 3 § 3 OSM requires that the word "movement" appear in full, and be written in the same type-face, of identical size and colour, as the word "Swiss".

 
right wrong
 
Material extent of the use of the word "Swiss"
 

The word "use" is understood in a broad sense: it not only covers the application of the above-mentioned designation to the watch, but also, according to Section 3 § 5 OSM:

  • the sale, offering for sale or putting into circulation of watches bearing such an indication;
  • the application of this designation to signs, advertisements, prospectus, invoices, letters or commercial papers.

Particular cases

Wristlet

The "Swiss made" indication may only appear on a wristlet if it is of Swiss manufacture and if the watch is also Swiss. A wristlet is considered to be Swiss if it has undergone an essential manufacturing operation in Switzerland and if 50 percent of the production costs originate in Switzerland.

When a Swiss wristlet is attached to a watch manufactured abroad, it may only bear a reference to the word "Swiss" if this designation clearly shows that only the wristlet is of Swiss manufacture (for example, "Swiss wristlet").

Case

The "Swiss case" indication on a watch case betokens that the case is of Swiss manufacture. A case is considered to be Swiss if:

  • it has undergone an essential manufacturing operation in Switzerland (stamping, turning, or polishing);
  • it has been assembled and inspected in Switzerland; and
  • over 50 percent of the manufacturing costs (excluding the value of the material) are due to operations carried out in Switzerland.

When the "Swiss case" indication appears on the outside of the case, and the watch is of foreign manufacture, the origin of the movement or of the watch must also be affixed to the outside of the watch.

"Swiss Quartz" indication

This indication is often illegally affixed to the outside of the watch, especially by foreign manufacturers wishing to show that the quartz movement used is of Swiss origin. But, according to the OSM, the use of this indication on the outside of the watch signifies that the watch is Swiss.

"Swiss parts" indication

This marking indicates that the movement is composed of movement-blanks which have been manufactured in Switzerland, but assembled abroad. This indication may only appear on the movement, and never on the outside of the watch.

 

Role of the FH
 

The FH has a double role in the protection of this indication of geographical origin;

firstly, the FH advises the companies on the lawful markings for watches and movements according to the Federal Council's Ordinance governing the use of the word "Swiss" for watches;

secondly it may act against companies which illegally use this indication, in order to protect the consumer, on the one hand, and, on the other hand, the renown of this designation, which is synonymous with quality.

If you have any questions about "Swiss made", please do not hesitate to contact a member of our Legal staff. (See also News)

Download the text of the Federal Council's Ordinance governing the use of the word "Swiss" for watches

 
 


General Overview
Legally Speaking

Sign of Identification of Producer (SIP)
       
   

© Federation of the Swiss Watch Industry FH 1997 - 2014
All Rights reserved.
Rue d'Argent 6, CH-2502 Bienne, Switzerland
Tel. +41 (0)32 328 08 28, Fax +41 (0)32 328 08 80

Logos and Models are protected by their respective Right Holders.
Last update : January 24, 2012

English
  FH Hong Kong FH Japon Rechercher dans tout le site:
  Swiss Made  
   
D'un point de vue général
 

Les montres, pendules et pendulettes fabriquées en Suisse portent la dénomination "Swiss made" (ou sa version abrégée "Swiss") en plus de la marque identifiant le producteur ou le distributeur. Ce label (en termes juridiques "indication de provenance") jouit d'une grande réputation dans le monde entier. La globalisation de l'économie n'a rien ôté à son importance. Bien au contraire, le consommateur souhaite, plus que jamais, disposer du maximum d'informations lorsqu'il se propose d'acquérir un nouveau garde-temps.

Pourquoi cette réputation ?
Quelle est la signification d'un tel label pour l'acheteur ?

Le "Swiss made" incorpore une notion de qualité qui s'est forgée au cours de longues décennies. Qualité technique certes (exactitude, fiabilité, étanchéité, résistance aux chocs), mais aussi qualité esthétique (élégance et originalité du design). Bienfacture traditionnelle, mais aussi adaptation aux nouvelles technologies (micro-électronique).

Les horlogers suisses ne sont pas les seuls à fabriquer des garde-temps de qualité. Ils doivent faire face à une forte concurrence. Mais ils ont réussi à conserver le leadership grâce à l'infrastructure unique au monde dont ils disposent, grâce aussi à leur savoir-faire et à leur esprit d'innovation.

La valeur intrinsèque du "Swiss made" correspond ainsi à des efforts considérables, réalisés par les entreprises de la branche, sur lesquelles repose une lourde responsabilité.

Des marques prestigieuses se sont développées mais elles n'ont pas relégué dans l'ombre le label "Swiss made". Marques et "Swiss made" s'appuient réciproquement. Leur alliance donne une garantie optimale au consommateur.

Il n'est pas étonnant que ce capital suscite l'appétit des contrefacteurs. Le "Swiss made" doit donc être défendu constamment, sur tous les marchés. Cette protection est l'une des tâches essentielles de la FH. Dans un tel combat, il faut utiliser les lois de chacun des pays concernés, complétées par des accords internationaux (traités bilatéraux conclus par la Suisse avec plusieurs pays européens, conventions multilatérales élaborées par l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle et par l'Organisation mondiale du commerce - accord TRIPS -).

Le législateur suisse doit donner l'exemple. Il l'a fait en renforçant sensiblement les instruments juridiques à disposition. La nouvelle "Loi sur la protection des marques et des indications de provenance", du 28 août 1992, a fortement augmenté les sanctions civiles et pénales. Les douanes helvétiques, pour leur part, exercent un contrôle vigilant à l'importation, à l'exportation et dans le trafic de transit.

Au surplus, une "ordonnance réglant l'utilisation du nom "Suisse" pour les montres", précise quelles sont les conditions minimales devant être remplies pour qu'une montre mérite l'appellation "Swiss made".

Cette ordonnance repose sur la conception selon laquelle la qualité d'une montre suisse dépend du travail effectué en Suisse, même si, parfois, certains composants étrangers sont mis en oeuvre. Il est donc exigé que le travail d'assemblage du mouvement (moteur de la montre) et de la montre elle-même (assemblage du mouvement avec le cadran, les aiguilles et les différents composants de la boîte) soit réalisé en Suisse, de même que l'ensemble des opérations de contrôle final sur le mouvement et sur la montre. Il est en outre requis une proportion suisse d'au moins cinquante pour cent des composants du mouvement.

D'autres indications de provenance identifient les montres fabriquées dans certaines régions de Suisse. L'une des plus renommées est l'indication "Genève", caractérisant les montres de haut niveau produites dans cette ville et dans le canton de Genève. Comme le "Swiss made", cette dénomination est très prisée des contrefacteurs. Elle aussi bénéficie d'une protection continue dans le cadre du programme anticontrefaçon de la FH.

L'industrie horlogère suisse déploie donc des efforts intenses pour maintenir l'intégrité du "Swiss made" et des autres dénominations attachées à une région de la Suisse.

Le consommateur, par sa vigilance, peut efficacement participer à cette action de salubrité. En sélectionnant les points de vente auxquels il s'adresse, en ne se laissant pas tenter par des offres aussi douteuses que mirifiques, il fait échec aux contrefacteurs, sauvegarde ses propres intérêts et contribue à la défense d'un commerce loyal. La FH et ses représentants régionaux répondent volontiers à toutes demandes d'information complémentaire. 

 
 
Aspects juridiques
 
Conditions d'utilisation Boîte de montre
Une montre suisse Indication "Swiss Quartz"
Un mouvement suisse Indication "Swiss parts"
Etendue matérielle de l'utilisation du nom "Suisse" Pendules et pendulettes
Bracelet Rôle de la FH
 
 
Conditions d'utilisation
 

Une montre suisse

Une montre ne peut porter à l'extérieur les indications "Swiss made", "Suisse" ou toute autre expression comprenant le mot "Suisse" ou sa traduction que si elle est suisse. Selon l'art. 1a OSM, une montre est considérée comme suisse :

  • si le mouvement est suisse;
  • si le mouvement est emboîté en Suisse; et
  • si le contrôle final effectué par le fabricant a lieu en Suisse.

Un mouvement suisse

Comme on l'a vu, pour être suisse, une montre doit utiliser un mouvement suisse. Selon l'art. 2 OSM, est considéré comme suisse le mouvement

  • qui a été assemblé en Suisse et
  • qui a été contrôlé par le fabricant en Suisse et;
  • qui est de fabrication suisse pour 50% au moins de la valeur de toutes les pièces constitutives, mais sans le coût d'assemblage.

Si le mouvement remplit ces conditions, mais que la montre n'est pas assemblée en Suisse, l'indication "Suisse" pourra alors être apposée sur l'une des composantes du mouvement. Sur l'extérieur de la montre ne pourra figurer que l'inscription "mouvement suisse" ou "Swiss movement". L'art. 3 al. 3 OSM exige que le mot "mouvement" figure en toutes lettres et que ces dernières soient identiques dans leurs types, dimensions et couleurs à celles de la dénomination "suisse".

 
juste faux
 
Etendue matérielle de l'utilisation du nom "Suisse"
 

Le terme d'utilisation est entendu au sens large: il s'agit non seulement de l'apposition de la dénomination susmentionnée sur la montre, mais aussi, selon l'art. 3 al. 5 OSM, de:

  • la vente, la mise en vente ou en circulation de montres munies d'une telle indication;
  • l'apposition de cette dénomination sur des enseignes, annonces, prospectus, factures, lettres ou papier de commerce.

Cas particuliers

Bracelet

L'indication "Swiss made" ne peut figurer sur un bracelet que si celui-ci est de fabrication suisse et si la montre est également suisse. Un bracelet est considéré comme suisse lorsque ce dernier a subi une opération essentielle de fabrication en Suisse et que 50 % du coût de production provient de Suisse.
 
Lorsqu'un bracelet suisse équipe une montre de fabrication étrangère, une référence au nom suisse ne peut être apposée sur le bracelet que si cette dénomination indique clairement que seul le bracelet est de fabrication suisse (ex : "bracelet suisse").

Boîte de montre

L'indication "Swiss case" sur une boîte de montre indique que la boîte est de fabrication suisse. Une boîte de montre est considérée comme suisse si:

  • elle a subi une opération essentielle de fabrication en Suisse (étampage, tournage ou polissage);
  • elle a été montée et contrôlée en Suisse; et
  • plus de 50% du coût de fabrication (valeur de la matière exclue) sont représentés par des opérations effectuées en Suisse.

Lorsque l'indication "boîte suisse" figure à l'extérieur de la boîte et que la montre est de fabrication étrangère, l'origine du mouvement de cette dernière ou celle de la montre doit être apposée à l'extérieur de la montre.

Indication "Swiss Quartz"

Cette indication est très souvent apposée abusivement sur l'extérieur de la montre, notamment par des producteurs étrangers, pour indiquer que le mouvement à quartz utilisé est suisse. Or, selon l'OSM, cette indication à l'extérieur de la montre signifie que la montre est suisse.

Indication "Swiss parts"

Ce marquage indique que le mouvement est composé d'ébauches qui ont été produites en Suisse mais dont l'assemblage a été réalisé à l'étranger. Cette indication ne doit être apposée que sur le mouvement et en aucun cas à l'extérieur de la montre.

Pendules et pendulettes

Si les informations générales concernant le "Swiss made" sont valables pour les pendules, pendulettes, réveils et horloges aussi bien que pour les montres, il existe certaines différences au niveau juridique.

L'Ordonnance qui règle l'utilisation du nom "Suisse" pour les montres s'applique uniquement aux produits horlogers munis d'un mouvement dont les dimensions ne dépassent pas 50 mm de longueur, de largeur ou de diamètre, ou dont l'épaisseur ne dépasse pas 12 mm. Ces dimensions correspondent aux critères utilisés mondialement par les autorités douanières pour distinguer entre les produits horlogers de petit et de gros volume.

Les conditions requises par l'Ordonnance s'appliquent intégralement aux petites pendulettes et aux petits réveils dont les mouvements n'excèdent pas les dimensions citées plus haut.

En revanche les produits possédant un mouvement qui dépasse ces dimensions (grandes pendulettes, grands réveils, pendules, horloges) sont soumis à la réglementation générale découlant de la Loi suisse sur la protection des marques et indications de provenance. En application de cette loi et en s'appuyant sur la jurisprudence des tribunaux, les autorités suisses ont confirmé, dans leurs recommandations, l'usage de la branche, selon lequel le produit de gros volume doit répondre à une double condition :

  • la valeur suisse incorporée dans le produit (composants, main d'œuvre et frais généraux de fabrication) doit représenter au moins le 50 % du prix de revient;
  • la dernière transformation essentielle du produit (fabrication du produit terminé, correspondant à l'assemblage final) doit avoir lieu en Suisse.

Rôle de la FH
 

La FH a un double rôle dans la défense de cette indication de provenance:

  • information: la FH renseigne les entreprises sur les marquages licites pour les produits horlogers au regard de l'ordonnance du Conseil fédéral réglant l'utilisation du nom "Suisse" pour les montres;
  • intervention: la FH intervient contre des sociétés qui utilisent abusivement cette indication afin de protéger, d'une part, le consommateur, d'autre part, le renom de cette dénomination, synonyme de qualité.

Si vous avez des questions sur le "Swiss made", n'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec l'un de nos juristes. (Voir aussi rubrique News)

Télécharger le texte de l'ordonnance suisse

 
 


En général
Aspects juridiques

Signe d’identification du producteur (SIP)
       
   

© Fédération de l'industrie horlogère suisse FH 1997 - 2014
Tous droits réservés.
Rue d'Argent 6, CH-2502 Bienne, Suisse
Tél. +41 (0)32 328 08 28, Fax +41 (0)32 328 08 80

Logos et modèles sont protégés par leurs détenteurs respectifs.
Dernière mise à jour : 24 janvier 2012